Our largest event of the year, Phoenix Rising, was back at Bengies Drive-In Theatre this year as we featured our 90th anniversary celebration, the Best of Maryland Awards, a video update on Preservation Maryland’s programs and projects, and a screening of Back to the Future under the stars!

It was a fun night that makes our ongoing work rehabilitating important historic structures, providing thousands of dollars in grants to at-risk historic places, advocating for our history, heritage, and communities in Annapolis, and fighting for common sense smart growth in some of the fastest-growing communities in Maryland, possible.

Supporters were happy for an evening to mingle, snack, and check out the classic DeLoreans that joined us. Prior to the movie, President & CEO Nicholas Redding addressed the crowd via a pre-recorded video, recognizing our Best of Maryland Award winners, sharing the organization’s programmatic accomplishments, and honoring Preservation Maryland’s 90 years of historic preservation work.

Couldn’t make it? Grab your popcorn and watch the video here:

a bit of Only-in-Maryland history: Bengies Drive-In is Maryland’s last drive-in theatre, boasting the  largest screen in the us at 52 x120 feet.

Phoenix Rising 2021 Photos

Don’t forget to share your own and tag us on social media!


Platinum Level:

  • Worcester Eisenbrandt

Diamond Level:

  • Grunley Construction
  • Simpson Gumpertz & Heger
  • Historic Roofing Company Inc.
  • Delbert Adams Construction Group
  • Brown Advisory

Gold Level:

  • Katz Day LLC
  • Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Lewis Contractors

Silver Level:

  • SM+P Architects
  • National Trust Insurance Services
  • Penza & Bailey Architects
  • Brennan + Company Architects
  • Ziger|Snead Architects
  • Quinn Evans

Congratulations to our Best of Maryland Award winners:

  • Smart Growth Excellence Award: Black Women Build
  • Stewardship Award: Montgomery County Parks, Josiah Henson House
  • Preservation Champions: Jan Gardner, Frederick County Executive; Senator Guy Guzzone, State Senator Howard County
  • Harrison Volunteer Award: Midge Ingersoll, Handsell House
  • The Phoenix Award: The A. Hoen Lithograph Building
  • Artisan Award: John W. O’Rourke, Sotterley
  • Gearhart Professional Award: Amanda Shores Davis, Star-Spangled Banner Flag House
  • President’s Award: Christian Havemeyer, Chestertown, Md.